Mens Team

Mens State 1 Division

Fitzroy City Soccer Club is one of the oldest Clubs in the North. We represent our club colours proudly and currently play in the Mens State 1 Division. If you want to be part of something special with rich history and great culture then come down and join us!!!

Head Coach – Nik Kovačević
Assistant Coach – Dejan Mlinar

View Fixture

One of the premier youth soccer clubs in Melbourne

The Premier League Years

In 2002 Fitzroy City Serbia competed in the Victorian Premier League (VPL).

After many successful years Fitzroy climbed up to the VPL in season 2002 were they spent a season before being relegated on the final day of the season finishing with 22 points - one point less than St. Albans Dinamo. The clubs glory moment in the VPL came in a 4-1 win over the then mighty Port Melbourne Sharks. Although bitterly disappointed the club is still to this day very proud of the Premier League generation.

Recent History

On the 2nd of February 2000 Fitzroy City played former European and World Champions Red Star Belgrade in Heidelberg. After taking an early led, Fitzroy were beaten 3-1. A man of the match performance was put in by Bojo Jevdevic keeping the Red Star players at bay in the first half.

In the 2006 season the club competed in State League 3 South East ending the season in 5th place. Nikola Veljovic finished the season with the most league goals – 23!

In season 2007 the club was relegated into Provisional League 1 South East from State League 3 South East. During the 2007 season Fitzroy City ended the season with 8 wins and 14 losses from 22 matches finishing in 10th and again being relegated.

In the 2009 season, Fitzroy City restored some long lost pride by finishing the season as champions of the Victorian Provisional League Division 1 South East. Nothing stated the dominance of the club more than the final day thrashing of close rivals Mooroolbark 6-0. Nathan Jones finished the season as the clubs top scorer with 12 goals and Best and Fairest.

In the 2009 season, the club competes in the Victorian State League Division Three South-East.

In 2010, Fitzroy City finished a respectable 5th in its first year back in Victorian State League Division Three South-East. Henry Wootton had his best year at Fitzroy City picking up the clubs Best and Fairest and Top Goal Scorer honors. Among the other winners, Shannon Griffin was voted Best Young Player, Valina Clearwater was named Women's Best and Fairest player and Prudence Robertson finished the season as the Women's Top Goal Scorer.

In 2011, Fitzroy City completes in State League Division 3. 2011 was a season of resilience for Fitzroy City. Whilst playing Kingston City in the first round saw a knee injury to Henry Wooton, ending his year. Fitzroy then continued to pick up a run of bad luck injuries seeing 8 of their starting 11 players suffer major injuries over the course of the year. A true testament to the club were the young players who stepped up and proved their worth. The club only stuck closer together and finished a respectable 5th. Young Player’s like Shannon Griffin and Federico Reira became a force at the club during 2011. Club Captain, Nathan Jones again picked up the Club’s Golden Boot Award with 8 goals.

In 2012, Fitzroy City is promoted to State League Division 2.​​ Fitzroy City were impressive from the outset of the 2012 campaign and never took their eyes off the goal of promotion to State League 2. The club boasted the best defense in the league with the central pairing of Luke Grounds and Evan Cooper seeming a very resilient pairing. The club was the only team to beat title holders Doveton all season and finished 2nd overall to achieve their goal. James Stellini had a stellar second half of the season to finish as the Club’s top goal scorer. Luke Grounds finished as runner up for player of the season in all of State League 3, with Captain Nathan Jones finishing 5th overall. Rightfully so, Best and Fairest went to Luke Grounds.



  • 1999 - Victorian State League Division Three Runner Up
  • 2000 - Victorian State League Division Two North West Champions
  • 2001 - Victorian State League Division One Runner Up
  • 2009 - Victorian Provisional League Division One South East Champions
  • 2012 - Victorian State League Division Three Runner Up


  • 1988 - Karadjordje Cup Winners (as Ringwood Serbia)
  • 1997 - Karadjordje Cup Winners

Top Goal Scorers

  • 2012 - James Stellini - 7
  • 2011 - Nathan Jones - 7
  • 2010 - Henry Wootton - 13
  • 2009 - Nathan Jones - 10
  • 2008 - Stewart Peuterer - 13
  • 2007 - Stewart Peuterer - 8
  • 2006 - Nikola Veljovic - 17
  • 2005 - Ignjat Filipovic - 7
  • 2004 - Aca Stevanovic - 4
  • 2003 - Ivan Jovanovic - 4
  • 2002 - Vasko Trpevski - 5
  • 2001 - Zlatko Mihajlovic - 13
  • 2000 - Michael Maljanek - 20 (Also State League Div 2 North West top scorer)
  • 1999 - Miroslav Nikolic - 10
  • 1998 - Rados Krasic - 9
  • 1997 - Sasa Milenkovic - 5
  • 1996 - Nick Gameras - 10
  • 1995 - Marjan Marinkovic & Nick Gameras - 5
  • 1994 - Sasha Milenkovic - 8

Interested in joining the club?